Ann’s Turmeric Tea

While we were visiting Ann & Phil down in Big Pine, Ann served me a really good tea. Today I made it myself and I think I have a pretty good tea, though it could be a little stronger. This is what I did.

Picked up some turmeric root, hibiscus and ginger tea at Whole Foods. The turmeric root was $15.99 a pound, but the little bit that I got came to under $2. I already had some coconut oil. The coconut oil is necessary to bring out the anti-inflammatory properties of the turmeric.

IMG_4358

I wasn’t real sure what to do with the turmeric. Ann showed me how she had smashed hers up using a stone crab cracker. I cut off a little bit of my root, peeled it, and then chopped it up. I might use a little more next time.

IMG_4362

Then I put it the 2 tea bags, turmeric and a little chunk of coconut oil in my teapot, poured the boiling water over it and let it steep for about 10 minutes.

IMG_4364.jpeg

It’s pretty good. I’m drinking some now and think I might add another hibiscus tea bag the next time. Or more turmeric. My achy joints feel better already!

One Comment Add yours

  1. Apart from the hibiscus, you’ve got the basics of a n excellent chai masala”!

    Like

Leave a Reply

